Academic Calendar
Summer Quadmester 2023

All dates and deadlines (noted below) are for quadmester full-term courses. PLEASE NOTE: Part of Term Courses have different dates and deadlines that are posted on the Part of Term Courses web page.

Date Event
Tuesday, May 30, 2023 Registration: Registration Officially Opens
Friday, June 2, 2023 Deadline: Last day to register for the upcoming Quadmester without a $75 Late Registration Fee
Monday, July 3, 2023 START OF TERM
FIRST DAY OF CLASSES
Registration: Start of Late Registration; Late Registration Fee increases to $125
Tuesday, July 4, 2023 INDEPENDENCE DAY (HOLIDAY): Live Class Sessions Meet As Scheduled
Sunday, July 9, 2023 Deadline: Last day to withdraw from the university with a 100% refund of tuition
Monday, July 10, 2023 Deadline: Last day to complete Late Registration
Deadline: Last day to add courses online via ESTHER
Sunday, July 16, 2023 Deadline: Last day to withdraw from the university with an 80% refund of tuition
Monday, July 17, 2023 Deadline: Last day to drop courses online via ESTHER
Sunday, July 23, 2023 Deadline: Last day to withdraw from the university with a 60% refund of tuition
Friday, July 28, 2023 Deadline: Last day for instructors to submit final grades to resolve “Incomplete” (INC) grades for courses taken in previous term
Sunday, July 30, 2023 Deadline: Last day to withdraw from the university with a 40% refund of tuition
Sunday, August 6, 2023 Deadline: Last day to withdraw from the university with a 20% refund of tuition
Monday, September 4, 2023 LABOR DAY (HOLIDAY): Live Class Sessions Meet As Scheduled
Sunday, September 10, 2023 LAST DAY OF CLASSES
Monday, September 11, 2023 Final Examination Period Begins
Sunday, September 17, 2023 Final Examination Period Ends
Monday, September 18, 2023 ILE (Intensive Learning Experience) Begins
Sunday, September 24, 2023 ILE (Intensive Learning Experience) Ends
END OF TERM
Friday, September 29, 2023 Deadline: Last day for graduate-level students to submit a paper Application for Degree (accessible in ESTHER) for December (Fall) degree conferral with the Office of the Registrar either in-person or via e-mail to registrar@rice.edu
Tuesday, December 5, 2023 (Tentative) GRADUATION: Convocation Ceremony for Summer and Fall 2023 degree recipients. For information please visit ceremony.rice.edu