Academic Calendar
Spring Quadmester 2024

All dates and deadlines (noted below) are for quadmester full-term courses. PLEASE NOTE: Part of Term Courses have different dates and deadlines that are posted on the Part of Term Courses web page.

Date Event
Monday, February 26, 2024 Registration: Registration Officially Opens
Friday, March 1, 2024 Deadline: Last day to register for the upcoming Quadmester without a $75 Late Registration Fee
Monday, April 1, 2024 START OF TERM
FIRST DAY OF CLASSES
Registration: Start of Late Registration; Late Registration Fee increases to $125
Sunday, April 7, 2024 Deadline: Last day to withdraw from the university with a 100% refund of tuition
Monday, April 8, 2024 Deadline: Last day to complete Late Registration
Deadline: Last day to add courses online via ESTHER
SOLAR ECLIPSE DAY: Live Class Sessions Meet As Scheduled
Sunday, April 14, 2024 Deadline: Last day to withdraw from the university with an 80% refund of tuition
Monday, April 15, 2024 Deadline: Last day to drop courses online via ESTHER
Sunday, April 21, 2024 Deadline: Last day to withdraw from the university with a 60% refund of tuition
Friday, April 26, 2024 Deadline: Last day for instructors to submit final grades to resolve “Incomplete” (INC) grades for courses taken in previous term
Sunday, April 28, 2024 Deadline: Last day to withdraw from the university with a 40% refund of tuition
Sunday, May 5, 2024 Deadline: Last day to withdraw from the university with a 20% refund of tuition
Monday, May 27, 2024 MEMORIAL DAY (HOLIDAY):Live Class Sessions Meet As Scheduled
Sunday, June 9, 2024 LAST DAY OF CLASSES
Monday, June 10, 2024 Final Examination Period Begins
Sunday, June 16, 2024 Final Examination Period Ends
Monday, June 17, 2024 ILE (Intensive Learning Experience) Begins
Wednesday, June 19, 2024 JUNETEENTH (DAY OF OBSERVANCE): Live Class Sessions Meet As Scheduled
Sunday, June 23, 2024 ILE (Intensive Learning Experience) Ends
END OF TERM
Friday, June 28, 2024 Deadline: Last day for graduate-level students to submit a paper Application for Degree (accessible in ESTHER) for August (Summer) degree conferral with the Office of the Registrar either in-person or via e-mail to registrar@rice.edu
Tuesday, December 10, 2024 (Tentative) GRADUATION: Convocation Ceremony for Summer and Fall 2024 degree recipients. For information please visit ceremony.rice.edu