Academic Calendar
Winter Quadmester 2024

All dates and deadlines (noted below) are for quadmester full-term courses. PLEASE NOTE: Part of Term Courses have different dates and deadlines that are posted on the Part of Term Courses web page.

Date Event
Monday, November 27, 2023 Registration: Registration Officially Opens
Friday, December 1, 2023 Deadline: Last day to register for the upcoming Quadmester without a $75 Late Registration Fee
Monday, January 1, 2024 NEW YEAR'S DAY (HOLIDAY): Live Class Sessions Meet As Scheduled
START OF TERM
FIRST DAY OF CLASSES
Registration: Start of Late Registration; Late Registration Fee increases to $125
Sunday, January 7, 2024 Deadline: Last day to withdraw from the university with a 100% refund of tuition
Monday, January 8, 2024 Deadline: Last day to complete Late Registration
Deadline: Last day to add courses online via ESTHER
Sunday, January 14, 2024 Deadline: Last day to withdraw from the university with an 80% refund of tuition
Monday, January 15, 2024 MARTIN LUTHER KING, JR. DAY (HOLIDAY): Live Class Sessions Meet As Scheduled
Deadline: Last day to drop courses online via ESTHER
Friday, January 19, 2024 Deadline: Last day for graduate-level students to submit a paper Application for Degree (accessible in ESTHER) for May (Spring) degree conferral with the Office of the Registrar either in-person or via e-mail to registrar@rice.edu
Sunday, January 21, 2024 Deadline: Last day to withdraw from the university with a 60% refund of tuition
Friday, January 26, 2024 Deadline: Last day for instructors to submit final grades to resolve “Incomplete” (INC) grades for courses taken in previous term
Sunday, January 28, 2024 Deadline: Last day to withdraw from the university with a 40% refund of tuition
Sunday, February 4, 2024 Deadline: Last day to withdraw from the university with a 20% refund of tuition
Sunday, March 10, 2024 LAST DAY OF CLASSES
Monday, March 11, 2024 Final Examination Period Begins
Sunday, March 17, 2024 Final Examination Period Ends
Monday, March 18, 2024 ILE (Intensive Learning Experience) Begins
Sunday, March 24, 2024 END OF TERM
ILE (Intensive Learning Experience) Ends
Friday, May 3, 2024 GRADUATION: MBA Investiture Ceremony
Saturday, May 4, 2024 GRADUATION: Commencement Ceremony
(Rice University's 111th Commencement)